Monday, 7 December 2009

BBC Sound of 2010: Longlist Announced

The BBC has released the longlist for its Sound of 2010 poll, a yearly competition designed to highlight the most exciting musical talent for the coming year.

The fifteen acts on the list were chosen by a panel of 165 UK-based tastemakers, who each named their favourite three new acts, and those with the most votes were put on the list. The top five and winner will be unveiled in January.

The panel’s choices were based on strict criteria. The act can be a performer of any description, band, singer, MC etc. The act must not have had a UK top 20 single or album, and they can be from any musical genre and from any country.

They must not already be famous e.g. member of a hit band going solo, or a TV soap star. Contestants of X Factor and American Idol were strictly forbidden.

This is the 8th year of the BBC’s Sound of… competition. Previous winners have gone on to major chart success. That list includes Little Boots, Adele, Keane and 50 Cent.

Daisy Dares You, Delphic, Devlin, The Drums, Everything Everything, Giggs, Gold Panda, Ellie Goulding, Hurts, Joy Orbison, Marina & the Diamonds, Owl City, Rox, Stornoway and Two Door Cinema Club.

The fifteen best rising music stars announced as the longlist for the BBC's Sound of 2010, are:

- Daisy Dares You
- Delphic
- Devlin
- The Drums
- Everything Everything
- Giggs
- Gold Panda
- Ellie Goulding
- Hurts
- Joy Orbison
- Marina & the Diamonds
- Owl City
- Rox
- Stornoway
- Two Door Cinema Club

No comments: